Labor leadership ballot tonight

Written By miftah nugraha on Rabu, 26 Juni 2013 | 19.55

KEVIN Rudd has won the Labor leadership spill, beating Julia Gillard 57 votes to 45.

Deputy prime minister Wayne Swan has quit as has Senate leader Stephen Conroy.

Independent member for Denison Andrew Wilkie has written to Mr Rudd saying he will provide support to Mr Rudd in the Lower House.

The Australian has reported that Penny Wong has been elected as Labor's new leader in the Senate.

Anthony Albanese has been elected as deputy prime minister.

Ms Gillard went on live TV this afternoon and called a ballot for the Labor leadership to resolve the leadership issue, even though she hadn't been formally challenged.

"All of these issues need to be resolved tonight," she said.

"We cannot have the Government or the Labor Party go to the next election with a person leading the Labor Party and a person floating around as the potential alternate leader."

That was why the loser must retire, she said.

Read more at and in tomorrow's Mercury.

Anda sedang membaca artikel tentang

Labor leadership ballot tonight

Dengan url

Anda boleh menyebar luaskannya atau mengcopy paste-nya

Labor leadership ballot tonight

namun jangan lupa untuk meletakkan link

Labor leadership ballot tonight

sebagai sumbernya

0 komentar:

Posting Komentar Techie Blogger Techie Blogger