New Chief Justice appointed

Written By miftah nugraha on Kamis, 07 Maret 2013 | 19.55

JUSTICE Alan Blow OAM has been announced as the next Chief Justice of Tasmania's Supreme Court.

Justice Blow will replace retiring Chief Justice Ewan Crawford in April.

Attorney-General Brian Wightman made the announcement today.

"Justice Blow is eminently qualified to take on this new role, having served as a justice in the Supreme Court of Tasmania since June 2000," Mr Wightman said.

"He has held many distinguished positions in a career spanning 40 years in the Supreme Court both here in Tasmania and in New South Wales."

Stephen Estcourt, QC, and Robert Pearce have also been appointed as Supreme Court judges.

"Mr Estcourt is a highly respected local barrister and Queen's Counsel who practices in both Tasmania and Victoria," Mr Wightman said.

"He served as a magistrate in Hobart from 1990 to 1994.

"He is a Commissioner of the Legal Aid Commission of Tasmania and was chairperson of the inaugural Resource Management and Planning Tribunal in Tasmania.

"He also has extensive experience as a lecturer and teacher in law.

"Mr Pearce was appointed as a magistrate in Launceston in August 2009 and his distinguished service in this role and positions including chairperson of the Disciplinary Tribunal ... has been rewarded by his elevation to the Supreme Court."

Mr Estcourt is also a well-known food blogger and a prolific Tweeter.

Mr Wightman also announced the appointment of Simon Cooper and Simon Brown to the Magistrates Court of Tasmania.

Read more in tomorrow's Mercury.

Anda sedang membaca artikel tentang

New Chief Justice appointed

Dengan url

Anda boleh menyebar luaskannya atau mengcopy paste-nya

New Chief Justice appointed

namun jangan lupa untuk meletakkan link

New Chief Justice appointed

sebagai sumbernya

0 komentar:

Posting Komentar Techie Blogger Techie Blogger